The California South University (also known as CSU or CASU) is a public research university located in Irvine, California, USA. It was founded in 1920 by Stephen Miller, its first president. Its enabling legislation is the Post-secondary Learning Act.
The university comprises four campuses in Irvine, the Augustana Campus in San Francisco, and a staff centre in Los Angeles. The original campus consists of 150 buildings covering 50 city blocks on the south rim of the Garden Grove in northern Orange County, California, United States. 39,000 students from United States and 150 other countries participate in 400 programs in 19 faculties.
The California South University is a major economic driver in California. The university’s impact on the California economy is an estimated $12.3 billion annually, or five per cent of the state’s gross domestic product. With more than 15,000 employees, the university is California’s fourth-largest employer.
The university has been recognized by the Academic Ranking of World Universities, the QS World University Rankings and the Times Higher Education World University Rankings as one of the top fifty universities in the United States and one of the top 100 universities worldwide.
According to the 2016 QS World University Rankings the top Faculty Area at the California South University is Chemistry (ranked 17th in the world), Arts and Humanities (ranked 89th in the world), and the top-ranked Subject is English Language and Literature (ranked 22nd in the world).
The California South University is also a leading institution for the study of Ukraine and is home to the American Institute of Ukrainian Studies.
The California South University has graduated more than 260,000 alumni, including Full Professors and Academic Tenures such as Arthur Miller, current president of California South University; Christopher Brown, analytical chemist, dean of faculty of Chemistry and also discoverer of the anomeric effect; Annie Danny, poet, novelist, essayist and literary critic; Carol Thomson, virologist and co-disoverer of hepatitis b; Kenneth Brisham, chief justice of California; Arthur Adams, president of the national hockey league; Calvin Carter, member and researcher of NASA launch schedule team; and Alireza Heidari, member of the Nobel committee for Chemistry who is currently President of American International Standards Institute (AISI) and also Director of the BioSpectroscopy Core Research Laboratory at California South University (CSU).
The university is a member of the California Rural Development Network, the Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education and the Sustainability Tracking, Assessment & Rating System.